My Own Western Movie Poster

For the past few days, I have done the following to make my own western themed movie poster. I based this on Django Unchained. Django Unchained is also a western movie, in which the poster I thought, was interesting and creative. It gave a western vibe.

Django_Unchained_Poster.jpg

 

To do this, I started off by taking pictures of Charlotte, Vi and Poppy. I gave Vi a prop (toy gun), making her look more dangerous but also to make it more western. I found a spot in college that was good to take the pictures in, where the girls would stand out. I realised it would be best to find a background relating to the genre instead, then photoshop them in, which is what I have done. So I positioned them and took the shots from a low angle, so the gun is facing the camera.

IMG_9712.PNG

This was one of the pictures I had taken…

Screen Shot 2017-10-11 at 12.19.37.png

As you can see, Vi (pictured middle) Is in a difference stance and has a different expression. The second picture I took, I thought would work better with Vi cropped in the first instead.

This is the second..

Screen Shot 2017-10-11 at 12.19.48.png

The girls in the back did not have the pose I wanted them to. To fix this, I used the lasso tool on photoshop and edited Vi in the second picture onto the first in which ended up like this..

Screen Shot 2017-10-20 at 10.23.59.png

This was the result of doing that, in which looks way better. This is when I realised it would look much better if I cropped them on to the western background. So after that, I searched the web for western backgrounds and found a good one.

6a00e551fcd886883401053711d2d9970b-800wi.jpg

It was very difficult to crop them on to, especially as the place where we took the pictures is completely different compared to said background. However it worked well.

Screen Shot 2017-10-20 at 10.28.08.png

Also a yellow tint was added, relating it more to the theme and making it more surreal.

I took some ideas from the poster of ‘Django Unchained, and used them.

Django_Unchained_Poster.jpgIMG_9712.PNG

Such as; the text, the colours, the positioning and more little details.

After adding all the text that I thought a movie poster included, even adding an age certificate, I was finished.

My result was really good and looked quite realistic. I hope to improve my skills of photography, cropping and photoshop in the future tasks. By doing this, my skills in photography and working unrelated images into each other have improved.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑